Success through clarity and flexibility +61 1300 768 658



So many methodologies to choose from ­which one’s right for me?

Defining the approach, you will take to managing any initiative or endeavour is as important as selecting the right people, skills and capabilities who will make up the teams the deliver it.  With such a myriad of methodologies in play, Agile, Prince2 Prosci ADKAR, BABOK and P3O how do you navigate the minefield and agree on the best approach for you.

The truth is no single model will ever be a 100% fit.  It is for this reason that Asq advocates and practices a flexible methodology agnostic approach where we pick the best parts of the models we know well and integrate them to drive the best outcome for the client.


Agile is based on iterative and incremental development, where requirements and solutions evolve through collaboration between self-organizing, cross-functional teams. It promotes adaptive planning, evolutionary development and delivery, a time-boxed iterative approach, and encourages rapid and flexible response to change. It is a conceptual framework that promotes foreseen interactions throughout the project development cycle.


Scrum is an iterative and incremental Agile framework for managing projects and product or application development. Its focus is on "a flexible, holistic product development strategy where a team works as a unit to reach a common goal”.


The methodology encompasses the management, control and organisation of a project, it is a process-driven methodology. It is based on seven principles, seven themes and seven processes. The principles and themes come into play in the seven processes.

Waterfall Model (traditional)

The Waterfall, or traditional phased, approach identifies a sequence of steps to be completed. Typically, five developmental components of a project can be distinguished (four stages plus control):


P3O is the guidance published by the UK Government Office of Government Commerce to help organisations implement Portfolio, Programme and Project Management Offices (P3O).


The PMBOK Guide is process-based methodology, meaning it describes work as being accomplished by processes. This approach is consistent with other management standards such as ISO 9000 and the Software Engineering Institute's CMMI. Processes overlap and interact throughout a project or its various phases. Processes are described in terms of Inputs (documents, plans, designs, etc.), Tools and Techniques (mechanisms applied to inputs), Outputs (documents, products, etc.)


Not a methodology, as such, but a standard and framework against which Business Analysts measure themselves. IIBA has created A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK), a collection of knowledge within the BA profession, reflecting the current generally accepted practices.


ADKAR is a research-based, individual change model that represents the five milestones an individual must achieve to change successfully.

Let's arrange
a coffee

read more

Download Latest
White Paper

download slot

Subscribe to Updates

If you'd like us to stay in touch with news about white papers and forthcoming events etc., simply click here to subscribe.


Case Studies

Right from the start, Asq Projects impressed us with their clear, flexible approach - that not only inspired confidence, but generated the results we were looking for, delivering a successful outcome.
Janssen Case Study


read more 3


TAL Case Study


read more 3

Resource Management
and Scheduling

ABC Case Study


read more 3

'On Demand'

Clients 2

Our Clients

read more 3